XIV

VICE-PRESIDENTS

The clause of the Society's constitution which first provided for a vice-president (to be elected annually) was adopted in Dec. 1889, and during 1890 Emory McClintock filled this office; he became president in the following year. All later presidents, except Newcomb, had been vicepresidents at earlier dates. An amended constitution of 1897 provided for a first vice-president and a second vice-president, and such officers were elected for each of the three years 1898–1900 (Woodward and Moore were respectively first and second vice-presidents in 1898; Moore and Fiske 1899-1900). But in 1900 another amendment enacted that there should be an election simply of two vice-presidents. This practice continued for more than a score of years, until further amendment in 1923. Beginning with 1924 the Society has always had three vice-presidents who, after the initial period, were each elected for biennial periods, and were ineligible for immediate reelection. In this way the following 77 individuals have served as vice-presidents, and have thus been, ex-officio, members of the Council of the Society. There is one case of father and son (Van Vleck) who have both been vice-presidents.

	-	
E. McClintock 90	J. I. Hutchinson 10	H.
J. K. Rees 91	G. A. Bliss 11	Ε.
H. B. Fine 92-93	W. E. Story 11	T.
G. W. Hill 94	H. F. Blichfeldt 12	J. I
H. A. Newton 95-96	H. Taber 12	G.
R. S. Woodward 97-98	M. W. Haskell 13	\mathbf{E} .
E. H. Moore 98-00	B. O. Peirce 13	C.
T. S. Fiske 99–01	L. P. Eisenhart 14	Ο.
H. S. White 01	E. J. Wilczynski 14	Н.
M. Bôcher 02	F. R. Moulton 15	J. V
F. Morley 02	O. Veblen 15	S. 1
W. F. Osgood 03	E. R. Hedrick 16	W.
A. Ziwet 03	V. Snyder 16	E.
O. Bolza 04	A. B. Coble 17	W.
J. M. Van Vleck 04	E. B. Wilson 17	E.
E. W. Brown 05	J. L. Coolidge 18	Η.
J. Pierpont 05	D. R. Curtiss 18	J. '
Charlotte A. Scott 06	G. D. Birkhoff 19	H.
I. Stringham 06	F. Cajori 19	Η.
H. Maschke 07	C. N. Haskins 20	H.
P. F. Smith 07	R. G. D. Richardson 20	\mathbf{E} .
J. Harkness 08	F. N. Cole 21	N.
G. A. Miller 08	D. Jackson 21	J. I
E. Kasner 09	R. D. Carmichael 22	R.
E. B. Van Vleck 09	D. E. Smith 22	J . 1
L. E. Dickson 10	R. L. Moore 23	
	404	

W. Tyler 23 V. Huntington 24 H. Hildebrandt 24-25 H. M Wedderburn 24-25 C. Evans 25-26 T. Bell 26-27 N. Moore 26-27 D. Kellogg 27-28 L. Rietz 28-29 W. Young 28-29 Lefschetz 29-30 . C. Graustein 30--31 P. Lane 30-31 . A. Manning 31-32 W. Chittenden 32-33 H. Mitchell 32-33 W. Alexander 33-34 C. M. Morse 34-35 S. Vandiver 34-35 Bateman 35-36 B. Stouffer 36-37 Wiener 36-37 L. Walsh 37-38 E. Langer 38 F. Ritt 38