## Fellowships

The Society has supported research fellowships. The AMS Research Fellowship was established in 1973 partly in response to the elimination of postdoctoral fellowships by the National Science Foundation. It was financed by contributions supplemented with general funds of the Society. It was agreed that the Society would contribute an amount equal to half the general contributions but at least \$9,000 and at most \$20,000. The amount of the fellowship was \$10,000 with an expense allowance of \$500. It was for research in mathematics strictly on the basis of merit, available to recent Ph.D.'s (or the equivalent, regardless of age). 'Recent' was interpreted to mean within the past five years. For 1976–1977 an additional requirement of citizenship or permanent residence in a country in North America was imposed.

Winners in this series of fellowships were the following:

1974-1975	Fred G. Abramson, James Li-Ming Wang
1975-1976	Terence J. Gaffney, Paul Nevai, George M. Reed
1976–1977	Fredric D. Ancel, Joseph A. Sgro
	A fellowship awarded to Eloise H. Carlton was
	declined.
1977-1978	David Vogan, Charles Patton, Duong-Hong Phong,
	Stephen Kalikow
1978-1979	Alan Danker, David Harbater, Howard Heller, Steven
	P. Kerckhoff, Robert C. McOwen
1979-1980	Scott W. Brown, Jeffrey E. Hoffstein, Jeffry N. Kahn,
	James E. McClure, Rick L. Smith, Mark Steinberger
1980-1981	Robert K. Lazarfield, Thomas H. Parker, Robert Sachs
1981-1982	Lawrence Man-Hou Ein, Mark Williams
1982-1983	Nicholas J. Kuhn
1983-1984	Russell David Lyons

The stipend for the fellowship had increased year by year until in 1983– 1984 it was \$24,000 plus an expense allowance of \$1,000.

The NSF had restored its postdoctoral fellowships in fiscal year 1979, so that the Society fellowships and the NSF fellowships were reaching the same

population. Accordingly the Society changed its fellowship to a mid-career fellowship, interpreted to mean five to ten years (four to ten in the first year) past the Ph.D. or equivalent. This was an area in which fewer other opportunities existed. These fellowships became available for the year 1984–1985. The stipend was \$30,000 plus a \$1,000 expense allowance. The citizenship or residence requirement was preserved. It was understood that the fellow could spread the fellowship over nine months plus one or two summers or could hold a teaching position with at most a half-time load and spread it over two years.

With the new eligibility requirement, the winners were as follows:

1984–1985	Richard Timothy Durrett
1985–1986	R. Michael Beals
1986–1987	Dinakar Ramakrishnan
1987–1988	Richard Hain, Bill Jacob
1988-1989	Steven R. Bell, Don M. Blasius, David Gabai

The number of fellowships had decreased in the interval 1982 to 1986 because of decreased contributions. At this point contributions were encouraged by a "negative checkoff" on the dues bill, with marked success.

The name was changed to Centennial Fellowship in 1987. The stipend was increased to \$32,000 for 1989–1990.